Categories
Abundance contemplation devotion devotional diversity faith flowers Fort Bragg Hope Insight inspirational meditation Meditations on Mendocino by Sondra Sula Mendocino Mendocino Coast Botanical Gardens Motivational northern California reflection Self-Acceptance Self-help Self-Improvement Solitude sondra sula Spirituality

Fabulous Fuchsias

wp233 fuchsia w white skirts 20190621_151012Before I moved to the Mendocino coast, I thought there were maybethree different kinds of fuchsias. Now I know better. There are literally over 3,000 varieties.

wp233 2 long fuchsia pinkWhen I was younger, there were a handful of careers I imagined I might have: ballerina, artist, religious hermit, auto mechanic, sculptor of internal organs and ornamental plant breeding research scientist. Every vocational test I took always suggested the same three jobs: fine artist, nun and florist, in that order.

wp233 orange fushsia 20190621_150843My interest in flowers has never faded, and although I’ve only done backyard pollination experiments to encourage fresh colors and patterns, I continually appreciate those who have created new varieties of ornamentals.

wp233 tiny red fuchsia 20190621_150821Perhaps that is why I never tire of finding and photographing fuchsias. The weather here is perfect for them. I’ve even discovered two types growing in my own front yard.

wp233 dk orange white tips 20190621_151309Who will ever see every fuchsia variety that exists? Probably no one. But anyone who stops to appreciate even one bloom will receive a gift—the gift of awe, beauty, amazement.

wp233 long fuchsia buds 20190621_151047Each one of us is unique—and even if another human isn’t appreciating us at every given moment, God is.

We may not have become all that we set out to be, but God thinks we’re perfect just the way we are.

All photos © Sondra Sula.

If you like these blogs, you’ll most likely enjoy my daily devotional book, Meditations on Mendocino by Sondra Sula. Available on Amazon in paperback or Kindle versions. Now also available at The Mendocino Book Company in downtown Ukiah, California.

One reply on “Fabulous Fuchsias”

Leave a comment