Categories
Being Held Discovery Finding God Hiking Nature northern California Spirituality Walking Wonder

Big River

wp79 Big River east 2016-07-08Big River welcomed me with open arms. It seemed to want to embrace me as soon as I got out of the car. I almost immediately found a portal into its world: a large post and lintel structure made from three robust logs. I stepped through.

wp79 pine form, lintel, sweet peasEven though there was no apparent outward change, I knew my “wonder spectacles” were now firmly in place, ready to see the walk as a child might. And I was not disappointed as I came upon an angelic figure created from a fallen conifer branch, her gown’s train trailing off the path. Bicolored sweet peas wore fanciful bonnets above their plump faces.

wp79 burlap poo 2016-07-08I laughed out loud when I spied a giant burlap sausage on the ground twisted upon itself in the shape of a soft pretzel. I surmised it was used to curb erosion or flooding, but I was enjoying it as if it were a piece of Claes Oldenburg’s art.

wp79 thistle 2016-07-08When I turned around to retrace my steps, a pair of thistles whirred before me like pinwheels, the effect almost dizzying. Both bud and open flower boasted white pointy edges, the latter due to powdery pollen.

As I came to the end of my walk, I could just barely see Big River merging into the Pacific Ocean. And as the ocean continually welcomes Big River in its embrace, I knew Big River would always be there for me, arms wide open.

wp79 Big River west 2016-07-08All photos © Sondra Sula.

Leave a comment